Saul’s Hearing

three masks 3-broad

SAUL’S HEARING

 

There’s a fever born lushly at the entrance of mind.

There’s a guard for generations, their bold sign.

I’ve granted a small variation, this one time.

Like a mind its deadly inch. It’s mortal crime.

 

I’ve never been so old, or bullied by time,

as now, a dirt king, pausing.

 

Young man, take heart the vision of kings.

Play for the mind

so gravely obsessing. I’m still unsure,

what death prefers.

Which for a dirt king, pausing?

 

So, he lathered as foam a lover,

the verse I once preferred.

A crocus for the tint of Eden,

its bowling green colour.

My good God’s word.

 

Young man, show me the crown

for the strings you’ve learned.

I too, hung insanely,

        until I heard, and heard.

 

I heard the pale stir of a chime,

its tired, tin layer.

And a crown rolling in the grime,

favoured.

 

  

The dirt king abounds on the tempest of a wing.

The heartstring on one man’s hearing.

So please, David, bring now

  your perfect strings.

 

What tortured ears allow,
I’m hearing.

 

Leave a comment